Golf and the Mental Game

It was said of Phil Mickelson recently that one of his greatest strengths (apart from being an awesome golfer) is that he never gives up. The same is true of players like Graeme McDowell. They hit a bad shot (you know, about 2 inches offline and landing four yards from where they wanted it to land) and they just keep going. They put it behind them and play the next shot. In Tseng Yani’s win in Thailand this February her fourth but final shot was a wayward push out to the right that could have ended up in disaster. it was way off to the right in a bad position next to a fence coming into a very tight green. And here comes the Life is a metaphor for Golf angle again…they all get over it.
Now me…I have a bad hole and you could steam eggs on my forehead there is enough heat there…and usually my next drive comes out of the club like Meatloaf (the singer, not the food) on an old oil painted album cover. Occasionally the combination of raw anger and some good luck results in an awe inspiring drive down the middle of the fairway…but, let’s face it, the result is usually a less than satisfying massive slice over to the next county. I actually got so upset one day after one hole that my next drive (had to be well over 320 yards he says sheepishly pleased with himself) actually cleared two fairways and landed on a third. This is why some golf courses have a handicap rule on players so that this doesn’t happen.  They should do a psych evaluation more to the point.   That particular ball landed with a plastic crunching thud that told me it had punctured a buggy and screamed of law suits to come. I hit that ball so wildly and out of control that even my ball wanted to sue me.  Normally I am quite pleased by my wild rage releasing drives but those who saw me that day said I turned instantly white and started immediately walking in the direction of where the ball went to check out what might have happened.  What happened was it cured me of being an arsehole. Suck it up and move on is my motto now…one that I – like most of my personal truisms – almost always live by.  I remember my mother for many things but one thing in particular I remember is her never failing to live up to her own rules about herself.  She always got up at the same time in the morning, she always cleaned the house weekly (even as a working mum), she always had food in the house, there was always something prepared for dinner at the same time everyday.  I live about 80% of my life like that and the rest is responding to what is happening right now. My Mum was a much better golfer than me.

About THE Steve

I work, I play golf, I write, I have opinions, I try to be nice to animals and small children. That's me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

